↓ Login/Logout ↓
Schedule/Results
↓ Roster ↓
Salaries
↓ Archives ↓
↓ About ↓

In alternate universe, Pistons lost to Wizards last night

Before we laugh at someone else’s expense, watch this video:

Based on that clip, and that clip alone, did Trevor Ariza make the shot?

Yeah, I don’t know either, and I wouldn’t fault anyone for taking either conclusion, though I’d lean toward yes.

Anyway, now that we realize any of us could have made the same mistake, let’s laugh at someone else’s expense.

We know, of course, Ariza missed, and the Pistons won last night. Unfortunately for the Wizards’ play-by-play man, he didn’t know. Via Matt Moore of CBSSports.com:

For what it’s worth, the Pistons beat writers all told Lawrence Frank after the game they thought the shot had done in. Frank said he knew it hadn’t, and from my view (opposite end of the floor), it was clearly short.

10 Comments

  • Feb 28, 201310:20 am
    by Tommy B

    Reply

    That’s funny.  I thought it went in as well.  Hilarious how the whole crowd in Washington threw their hands up.  Good stuff.  

  • Feb 28, 201310:50 am
    by G

    Reply

    BTW, thank you Will Bynum for that clear-path foul. Worst thing he could’ve done was foul there.

  • Feb 28, 201310:50 am
    by tarsier

    Reply

    Too bad. This would have been a really helpful loss.

  • Feb 28, 201311:33 am
    by Ron

    Reply

    Refs literally handed the Wizards this game with that bogus charge call and then the clear path foul AND they still lost. Pathetic I was looking forward to losing and improving our draft position.

    • Feb 28, 201311:40 am
      by G

      Reply

      That was a legit clear path foul. If you want to blame anybody for that, blame Bynum. I fail to see the percentage on the refs handing the Washington that game… Washington has a worse record than Detroit so they have less status, and a win helps them less than a loss & improved draft position would.

      • Feb 28, 201312:11 pm
        by Jame

        Reply

        That was not a clear path foul because Ariza was not in front of Will

        • Feb 28, 20131:19 pm
          by G

          Reply

          The rule is no one can be AHEAD of the player being fouled. No one was in Ariza’s path to the basket, Bynum grabbed him from the side.

        • Feb 28, 20131:39 pm
          by G

          Reply

          Here’s an example from NBA 2k12:
          https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W9iP578LYBo

          I know it’s a video game, but that means the rules aren’t open to interpretation or bias. Anyway, it looks almost exactly the same as Bynum’s play. The offensive player makes a move to get by & the defender fouls him as he goes by. 

          • Feb 28, 20135:09 pm
            by oats

            That clip actually wasn’t a clear path foul. NBA.com has a video rulebook, and it is kind of great. That play the defender was in front of his man while the ball was in the front court, so it is not eligible to be a clear path foul. As the droning man in the video rule book would say, the ball must originate in the back court. That said, you are right about Bynum no longer being in the path to the basket at the time of the foul. It was close enough that if they didn’t call it clear path that it still wouldn’t be worth talking about, but it was a clear path foul.

  • Feb 28, 20137:52 pm
    by RalphHau

    Reply

    To the announcer that yelled “dagger”…. Oops!

  • Leave a Reply

    Your Ad Here